top of page
Search

Discipline Over Motivation

I have worked out my whole life, I guess you could say. I have a picture from when I was little with a basketball in my hand, and I was wearing a green and gold jumpsuit. Little hooper. All throughout my school days, elementary through college, I was active. From YMCA basketball to college football, I was always on the move.


After my injury, however, I never realized how difficult it would be to find the "motivation" to be active again. I gained a lot of weight and was really unhealthy. I felt little to no motivation to go to the gym and workout, take walks, or even stretch. I have talked about this before, but I couldn't really pinpoint the problem.


Over the last two years, I have decided to take my fitness journey a lot more seriously. At first, my motivation was vain, at least I think it was. I wanted to look better and feel better about myself. I didn't do it for others; I did it for me. What I wanted. How I wanted to be seen. Ironically enough, like most selfish decisions and passions, that joy didn't last very long. It became boring, monotonous, and unfulfilling. The workouts were the same, the food was the same, and it really made me not want to do it.


My "motivation" changed when I realized doing this for myself was getting me nowhere. I came to the conclusion that God gave me this body. As a follower of Christ, I believe that this is a temple for God, and I need to take care of it. Eating healthy, doing physical activity, these are things that allow me to do so. So first and foremost, I have my God as my "motivation".

In 1 Corinthians 6:19-20: “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.”



Secondly, my wife. I have an amazing wife. I wanted to look good for her and be healthy before we got married, so I could show her how serious I was about us and our future. Wanted to be here for the long haul. She pushes me everyday, even the days I don't want to be pushed, to be a better man and husband, and now a father as we are expecting our baby girl Landry in July. My family is my first priority behind God, and this is a way I can stay on top of it.








Next, my parents and brother, Brock. My parents instilled a relentless work ethic in me. They taught me how to be strong even when I felt weak; how to persevere through difficult times. When to back off, regroup, and come at adversity with a different attack, but most importantly... they love me. I am truly blessed to have parents like them. Brock, my "little" brother. I say "little" with quotation marks because, if you know him, he isn't little. He is the best brother in the world. He was the best man at my wedding, someone I can lean on, I trust him with my life. I love him. He "motivates" me everyday. He is on his own journey, and I am glad we can share what we go through with each other and be there when needed. It is also a blast working out with him.


Finally, my friends. I can't go into all of them, but they know who they are. I have friends, brothers really, that are there even when I least expect or deserve it. I get texts, phone calls, DM's, all the time from them telling me to keep working. They check on me often, and I am so grateful for them. More than they will ever know.

Do or do not; there is no try. - Yoda

The reason I kept throwing the word "motivation" into quotes, was because at first, it is motivation. It is something that pushes you to be better. It can still stay a motivation for forever; however, motivation is nothing without discipline. In athletics, coaches teach, coach, push, yell, cuss, etc., all to instill discipline in their athletes. This is so that one day, outside of the sport, they grow to become a valued member, and profitable member of society. This goes back to parenting, coaching, teaching, and then ultimately, self-discipline. If you don't have discipline, you have nothing. There is a reason why I work so hard. Yes, I want to make my family and friends proud, but it comes down to want to. You can talk all you want about whatever, but if you aren't disciplined to make it happen, it is just talk. It doesn't happen automatically, but eventually, you get to the point where you just do without thinking. Without hesitation. It is freeing. It sounds ironic, but it is true.


Discipline = Freedom.


Let me know your thoughts in the comment section below.

If you want follow my journey, head to my instagram @greydon.fit1


65 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sleep

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page