top of page
Search

Sleep

According to the CDC, the recommended amount of sleep for a person who is between the ages of 18-60 is seven or more hours. This is highly important as you feel more rested, are more aware, get tired less quickly, and you allow your body to recover. Your body can burn up to, a very approximate number, fifty calories an hour. There is a reason why you sleep more or better after exhausting yourself, be it from a workout, a long day, a surgery, whatever the case may be, sleep is extremely important.


Even though it is extremely important, it may be one of the most overlooked forms of recovery and thought of as irrelevant. I know several people, including myself, that stay up way too late doing things that aren't necessary. For me, playing video games and watching television is something I struggle with. I will stay up till two or three in the morning and then regret it the next day when I sleep till 10:00 a.m. and feel like I ruined my whole day. After getting married, I began a regular sleep schedule and immediately saw improvements to my mood, energy, and recovery. I woke up not as sore or tired and I wasn't as grumpy or quick to snap at people. Sleep really changed how I was daily.


I reached out to several people in different fields and wanted to know how sleep helps them and what happens when they don't get enough sleep. The people I spoke with ranged from body builders, content creators, division one athletes, and owners of companies. I wanted to see how different people use sleep to improve their daily lives.


Keep it Simple


Scott Simmons is a content creator and co-owner of UPHILL BATTLE CO. He is also a videographer and photographer. He creates videos for companies and businesses along with his own YouTube Channel. Scott stated he doesn't try to complicate his habits.


As for sleep habits, I don't really have many. I try not to overcomplicated things so I can stay consistent with them. But a standard wind-down routine for me before bed is having a meal at least 1-2 hours before bed. If your body is busy digesting food it's hard to get into a deep state of sleep. - Scott Simmons


Simmons says he tries to get 6-7 hours of sleep and feels best when he gets to bed before midnight. He also believes that blue light blocking glasses tend to help ease the strain with bright screens. He also said he sometimes reads, but "that's not a routine as much as it's an enjoyable activity when I want to read."


Simmons uses simplicity to get into a sleeping mode. Allows for minimal distractions before bed, and attempts to get about the same amount of sleep every night.


Consistency is Key


Kyte McDonald is a collegiate baseball player who most recently played for the Shockers of Wichita State. He also played for the Mississippi State Bulldogs and Alvin Junior College in Houston. McDonald believes that being intentional and consistent is most important.

My whoop band tracks my sleep and recovery and when I get less than 7 hours, I notice a big decline in my recovery (and how I feel) than if I get my normal 7+ hours. I will say that for me it is more important to get on a consistent sleep schedule than the amount of sleep, but both are important. I just feel more rested when I am going to bed and waking up at a similar time every day. - Kyte McDonald

McDonald added that not eating right before bed and drinking plenty of water allows him to sleep better. He also stated that "staying away from alcohol play(s) a big role in my sleep quality."

Being an athlete requires McDonald to stay at the top of his game and his body in peak condition. Any slip up can cause him to not be able to compete at a high level and can cause either injury or affect his team negatively. Knowing how much sleep he needs and what he needs to do to get that is of upmost importance and he gives great tips to achieve those goals.


Unmotivated


Brandon Ellis is a powerlifter turned bodybuilder and he is someone who knows what sleep can do for you. He just competed in his first bodybuilding competition and placed in the top 5 in three different categories. Ellis understands that sleep is essential for him as he can begin to feel unmotivated if he doesn't get enough of it.

I get seven hours of sleep a night. When I don't, I get moody and unmotivated. I like to settle down around 10 p.m. and take a sleep aid from Raw Nutrition. - Brandon Ellis

Sleep is essential for health and wellness. You can see from three different people, who have three different lives, sleep is of upmost importance in all of their routines. You can take from their habits and gain some ideas about how to improve your sleep habits.






What changes will you make to improve your sleep habits?

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page