top of page
Search

A Little Life Update

So, I don't even know when the last article was posted, but I know it was the high school football season. I seem to get the bug for content and articles and then it goes away. Sure, there is always a lot going on and life seems to get busy and things continually pop up at the "worst" times, but that doesn't mean I shouldn't continue to do something that I love. it has been three months since my last article and a whopping SEVEN months since my last YouTube video. (Which is pretty cool as it was with a pitcher for Mississippi State). The point in all of this is to say that I think this time is different.


I got my start in the whole content creation world when I was a freshman in college and I sat in my dorm and made a video, literally just me holding my phone, talking about our football team. It wasn't pretty, it was sort of cringy to be honest, but it was the first time I thought I could do something like this. That sparked me on a content journey that has been super inconsistent, choppy, and had several restarts. I started a YouTube channel back in September of 2021 and have only posted 16 videos in two years, but it is a start. This website was created almost four, maybe in five, years ago. Writing has always been my passion. There have been moments where it felt like a chore or a hassle to do, but I believe that if you care about something and love something a lot and have a lot of passion for something, it shouldn't always be easy. I agree, if you love your job you wouldn't work a day in your life, but at the same time, if something you do means a lot to you, you strive to make it the best it absolutely can be. This is what content creation is for me.


So, to the life update we go. After I graduated high school, I didn't have a job. I was getting married in five months and was a substitute teacher for a month before the wedding. Again, not a full-time job. I got word that a funeral home was needing someone to come work for them. Yes, a funeral home. I said no way I would ever do that. Don't ever say never, because God definitely has a sense of humor. Sure enough, in October of '21, I was a funeral home employee. For nine months, I had one of the most incredible jobs ever. I worked with some of the best people. Did some things I never thought I would or could. Helped people, Traveled to Snyder, OK more than I ever dreamed of. It was an interesting experience to say the least. The problem was, I let the work I did get to me. I didn't know it then, but I was depressed. Everyone around me could see it, but I had no idea. It became difficult to find the joy in life. It was hard to come home on my off day and record videos or write articles. I just wasn't enjoying life. Thankfully, God had a plan.


In August of '22, a call came from the place I worked at a month before the funeral home. It was the school asking if I wanted to come teach freshman English. If you know me, then you already know the jokes and laughs we had when I told you what I was going to do. I said yes, and within four days I was doing new teacher orientation, getting my classroom ready, and then school started. It has been a whirlwind to say the least. I also am coaching boys basketball and I am absolutely loving it. The last six months have been a blast and my joy has come back! Not to say it has all been easy, but I am thankful to be where I am at.


The workout journey has definitely been a journey. From losing 45 pounds and getting to about 275, to fluctuating between that and 290 for the last two years, it has been a journey. I tweaked my back in October of last year and that really took me out of a rhythm. It took me a couple months to really get back into the gym and find that drive again. The late nights of coaching make it difficult to find the energy to wake up in the morning, but the gym has always been a place for me to forget and just work. That has been a great addition to my daily routine. I have a cool announcement coming soon too so stay tuned to my instagram and give it a follow!


I guess that brings me to the present. My wife and I are having a baby in July! That is unreal and my wife is an absolute trooper! She hasn't missed a beat with anything and it is crazy to watch her go through this unbelievable and beautiful change and I am so blessed to have this strong, amazing, and beautiful woman as my wife. We don't know the gender yet and will do a gender reveal, but we are so excited and blessed! Everything else in my life is going well. God has blessed me with people and friends and family around me that I rely on for a lot and I thank each and everyone of you for all you do for me.


There is more to come people so stick around! I will see you guys soon. Stay blessed and stay in the Lord. Thank you for reading and I am excited for what is to come!

76 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sleep

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page